Matteo’s Presentation

Hi everyone, I’m Matteo Marras, I’m 29 years old and I decided to do EVS in Albania, in Tirana. For me it was like feeling again the atmosphere of the Balkans after three years (I spent a summer in Sarajevo in 2008).

I finished my studies in Political Sciences, International Relations, and going abroad in such a country is for me a possibility to follow my interests.

Beside that, I am very pleased to contribute to defend the rights of disabled people, especially in a country where they feel really excluded from active life in society. I really hope that I will have the chance in the future too to be involved in social works.

Three times a week with my nice colleagues, during school time, I go to the special school “Luigj Gurakuqi”, in which we organize recreational activities (such as basketball, soccer, drawing … etc.) for children aged from 6 to 19 years old with mental disabilities. This task has got a great emotional impact and is giving me personal satisfactions, even if I had no previous experience in the field. For the rest we collaborate with the association in different situations, like various assignments in the office, aimed to raising awareness about the problem, much neglected in Albania, of disadvantaged people, also by participating in some courses on topics related to all of this (human rights in particular). Thanks to this experience I managed so far to travel to different countries of the Balkans (Bosnia, Montenegro, Kosovo, Romania, Macedonia, Serbia). And that’s only half way…

2 comments

  1. Miguel Angel Cano · July 28, 2011

    great!! keep it going Matteo!! greetings from Split😉
    Miguel

    • Matteo · July 31, 2011

      Thank you very much Miguel, this is motivation!🙂 Hope all is good for you, greetings to Split! ciao!

Leave a Reply

