Post by Joe Clarke

Hello fellow Travellers, and welcome to the only posts your gonna need to read about albania :p… and probably the shortest!

My initial worries and fears seem have faded away! This is my first evs and first time doing volunteer work so to begin with i was a little bit dubious. After a tiring first 2 or so days I feel as though I have settled in very well here. The fellow volunteers are great! A mixed bunch, always something interesting or funny going on🙂.. like for eg. Simon getting lost all day on in Tirana on the 2nd day he he.

I think i had a bit of a culture shock after the first few days, seeing children begging on the streets was probably the hardest thing to take. I’ve never experienced this before in England and I didn’t really know how to react to them. Also i feel like the language barrier has been a small problem, alot of the older people don’t speak a word of English and i felt embarrassed for not knowing anything and still do at times. With the help of other volunteers, locals and the language lessons I have managed to grasp the basics and learnt a few important words (i use faleminderit a lot🙂 Tirana for me is not the kind of place i would like to live, and i don’t know if i could cope if this was a long-term evs. I have a lot of admiration for the long term volunteers. from what I’ve seen the surrounding landscape is very beautiful and i would like to explore the city more before further comment :p

The first 2 days at the school have gone really well for me. I didn’t really know how to react to the children, the language barrier and my lack of experience probably held me back at first… then the children came to me! I didn’t even have to try. Before long we we’re playing basketball together, playing football, painting and just having loads of fun. You need a lot of energy to work with these kids, is all very tiring but i guess thats what being young is all about. It takes me back to my childhood (which was awesome by the way)😀

I can’t wait to get back there, and get involved!!!

Big thumbs up!

 

 

Leave a Reply

