After 10 days in Albania …

To be honest, I do not like to speak about me, but here goes…

Tirana, from Sky Tower

 My name is Diogo, I’m 20 years old, I come from Portugal. I studied Sociocultural Animation, then I started university, due to financial problems, not finished the course.

I was in Portugal, looking for work with children when I discover the EVS (European Voluntary Service). I contacted the association in Portugal, and now here I am in Beyond Barriers, with a fantastic crew.

That’s when I really thought to myself, yes there is Albania!

I met some EVS and local volunteers. Each day was the discovery … Even today I still discover new things, places, culture, food … and I believe it will be like that till I will 0finish the project.

Tirana is a beautiful city, very different from other capitals: the time seems to be flexible, people are relaxed, smiling and welcoming. They are always willing to help, even though I speak English and they do not realize what I want, always they try to help me.

Throughout these 10 days I noticed that people enjoy the sunset, it is the time to relax, (it is a very hot country), on terraces, gardens. Old people are sitting on benches, children are running and playing in the streets, young people are sipping a beer in outdoor cafes … what we do not find in other cities like Lisbon, London, Madrid.

I’m looking forward to the beginning of the classes, I can’t wait to start to work with the children!

This is only the beginning!

Keep you posted,

Diogo Tomé

Leave a Reply

